Our 2014 – 2017 Executive Committee

Steve Ooi
Steve OoiChairman
Group Managing Director of Jaya Sarana Group of Companies.  He has 35 years of working experience in the Fire and Safety Industries. Currently Founder President, Society of Fire Protection Engineers (Malaysian Chapter), Past President, Board Member and currently Hon. Secretary of the Malaysian Fire Protection Association, Received appreciation award medal from the Director General of Malaysian Fire Department, Member of the National Fire Protection Association USA, Fire Protection Association UK, The Institution of Fire Engineers (UK) Malaysia Branch, Professional Member, Society of Fire Protection Engineers U.S.A, Life Member of the American Institute of Management, past and present President & Committee Members of many other Non Government Organizations in Malaysia. With his involvement with all these bodies, he has contributed generally by bringing into Malaysia latest field of Fire & Safety Technology.  Presently also Secretary/Treasurer of CFPA-A.
Hatem Ezzat Kheir
Hatem Ezzat KheirVice Chair
Mr. Kheir is General Manager of Kheir Group – Graduated From Cairo University as a Mechanical Engineer on 1981 and worked one year in the Mechanical Engineering Department at Mansoura University. He then joined a private sector company in Egypt. He worked in Saudi Arabia from 1984 until 1989, returning back to Egypt as Area Manager for international company in pump business. He is a one of the founders, and a board member of Egyptian Fire Protection Association, and represented Egypt in many international conferences in fire protection He is also the only foreign member serving in the technical committee of fire pump in NFPA, member of SFPE, Board Member of Engineering Services for Industry Sector of the Chamber of Engineering Industries, Egypt.
Jesper Ditlev
Jesper DitlevTreasurer
Mr. Ditlev is the managing director of the Danish Institute of Fire and Security Technology (DBI). DBI is a technological service enterprise that endeavors to protect lives and property by promoting active and passive fire prevention and by enhancing the level of security and fire safety. Jesper Ditlev became Master of Science Civil Engineering in 1990. Prior to joining DBI in 2000, Jesper worked as a consulting engineer. Upon joining DBI Jesper initially headed the testing and consultancy department. From 2003 Jesper became technical director and thus member of DBI’s board of directors. Effective January 2009 Jesper was appointed managing director.
Anders Bergqvist
Anders BergqvistDirector
Mr. Bergqvist is the CEO for Swedish Fire Protection Association (SFPA) and the CEO for  the RVR Service in Sweden. Anders has a background as a Fire Protection Engineer graduated from Lund University. Prior the work in SFPA Anders worked for 15 years as an officer (operation, prevention) in the Greater Stockholm Fire Brigade and before that as a section manager at the SP Technical Research Institute of Sweden, Fire Technology, as teacher and project manager at the Swedish Rescue Services Agency and as a fire-fighting instructor in the Swedish Navy. Anders has spend great effort in combining the fire department with the research institutions and made his own research in the areas of fire in tunnels and fire fatalities.
Donald Bliss
Donald BlissDirector
Donald P. Bliss is the vice president for field operations at the National Fire Protection Association (NFPA), Quincy, MA USA.  He oversees NFPA’s International Division, Government Affairs and NFPA’s Field Operations in the U.S. and Canada.  NFPA is a worldwide leader in fire, electrical, building, and life safety and NFPA develops more than 300 codes and standards to minimize the possibility and effects of fire and other hazards.  Prior to joining NFPA, Bliss was a senior project manager and public safety consultant with Municipal Resources, Inc. in Meredith, NH. He served as the State of New Hampshire State Fire Marshal from 1992 until 2003; fire chief in Salem, New Hampshire from 1983 to 1992 and is considered an expert on critical infrastructure protection with the Mobile Education Team of the Center for Homeland Defense Studies at the U.S. Naval Postgraduate School.  Following the events of September 11, 2001, he took over responsibility for New Hampshire’s emergency management and homeland security efforts and served as homeland security advisor.
Zhang Shaoyu
Zhang ShaoyuDirector
Zhang Shaoyu is the board member of China Fire Protection Association and the vice president of China national test authority for fire products (CNCF). He received the master degree of electronic engineering from Tianjin University, China. Shaoyu works in Tianjin Fire Research Institute (TFRI), the leading professional fire research organization in China, since 1986 with more than 28 years experiences in fire engineering application study, fire product test and standard development. Currently, he is the vice president of test lab, senior researcher, project leader of both sprinkler system and lithium battery fire of China national research programs, team leader of China national standards on sprinklers. Prior to his present position, he worked as a test engineer for 12 years and then served as the department manager for 8 years in TFRI test lab. He also works in the fields of international standardization on fire and act as the chairperson of ISO/TC21/SC6 on foam and powder media and firefighting systems using foam and powder since 2007. Shaoyu presently is the vice chairman of CFPA-Asia.
Jonathan O’Neill
Jonathan O’NeillDirector
A graduate of Economics and History, Jonathan O’Neill began his professional life in the insurance industry and has been Managing Director of the Fire Protection Association, since it separated from the Loss Prevention Council in 1999. Now based at the Fire Service College in Moreton-in-Marsh, FPA continues to thrive and grow and has recently opened a fire test facility enabling it to remain at the forefront of technological advances in fire protection method and techniques. Jonathan has served on numerous government, ministerial and sector advisory bodies. He represents UK insurers on the Prevention Forum of Insurance Europe; is on the Executive of the Fire Sector Federation; the RISC Authority and the Operational Guidance Strategy Board; and he is a member of the Boards of BASEC, SSIAB and BAFE.